Lowndes and Stewart join JLT Condor

JLT CONDOR complete 2018 roster with signing of Lowndes & Stewart


Lowndes and Stewart

JLT Condor are thrilled to welcome Australian sprinter, Jason Lowndes, and British all-rounder, Tom Stewart, to the Britain’s longest standing UCI cycling team.

Herety spies new sprint talent
Australian Jason Lowndes is another under-23 rider to join the JLT Condor team for 2018. Lowndes finished third behind JLT Condor’s Brenton Jones on stage 5 of the Tour of Korea, and will slot into a similar role as Brenton Jones as one of the team sprinters.

Twenty-two-year-old Lowndes rode for the pro-continental level team, Drapac, in 2016 before joining the Israel Cycling Academy in 2017.

Ster ZLM Toer GP Jan van Heeswijk 2016 prologue


Tom Stewart takes a GC contender role
Yorkshireman, Tom Stewart, was one of the strongest riders in 2016, taking a historic win in the Lincoln Grand Prix by outsprinting Russell Downing for the win on the cobbles. Stewart, who has a degree in civil engineering from the University of Sheffield and started his cycling career in mountain biking, first rose to prominence in the 2014 Tour of Britain, when he finished third on stage six following a gruelling day in the breakaway.

“Tom will be one of our stage race riders along with Ian Bibby. Like Ian, he can sprint, he can climb and he can win one-day races. We have an aggressive international stage race calendar and our race programme offers Tom the chance to continue to show his ability at a higher level”, explained team manager, John Herety.

Motorpoint Spring Cup Series - 2016 Cycle Lincoln Grand Prix

Strength and depth

John Herety has set an two ambitious goals for the 2018 season. “Our focus is two-fold. We were the world’s strongest criterium team in 2017 and it is a crown we will work to retain for 2018. Alongside that aggressive goal, our race programme will have an international stage race focus to help develop talented riders to a higher level of the sport.”

2018 Roster
Ed Clancy, OBE
Ian Bibby
Graham Briggs
Edmund Bradbury
Germain Burton (U23)
Matthew Gibson (U23)
James Gullen
Jason Lowndes (U23)
Ed Laverack (U23)
Tom Moses
Robert McCarthy
Jon Mould
Alistair Slater
Tom Stewart
Ollie Wood (U23)

Leave a Reply