Bronze for Gullen in Championships

2017 men's podium.jpg

James Gullen completed the 44.4km hilly course on the Isle of Man clocking 58:09.45.
The ride earned him a bronze medal, whilst Matt Gibson finished seventh in the under-23 men’s competition.


Gullen beat several World Tour pros to claim the final podium spot last night. He was edged out by five time title holder Alex Dowsett who finished second and multiple Tour de France stage winner, Steve Cummings.
Team mate of Mark Cavendish, Cumming’s clocked a winning time of 57:18.66 on the course.

James Gullen reflected on his performance:

“Obviously I want to win, I tried to do my best ride. The course is so up and down there were times I was on my limit thinking have I gone to hard and hoping my legs would keep turning.”

“I really pushed on the climbs and tried to stay on the bars. I felt like course suited me, it was fun, if a TT can ever be called fun.”

James Gullen on course at half way point.JPG



Gibson 7th in under-23 event

Twenty year-old Matthew Gibson finished seventh in the under-23 National Time Trial event earlier in the day.
Gibson, who was part of British Cycling’s Olympic Development squad, suffered with glandular fever throughout 2016 which halted his progression in the sport. He returned to racing this season with JLT Condor and is the youngest member of the team.

AW3_9716 (1).jpg

John Herety was delighted with Gibson’s performance commenting:

“It was a solid ride, the top five in the under-23 competition have been racing for the past 18 months, whereas Matt has had to go from zero.

Six months after recovering from his illness he continues to improve. He’s now looking forward to his next block of racing where he’ll aim to take another step forward.”


2017 Men’s National Time Trial Results

1. Stephen Cummings, Dimension Data 57:18.7
2. Alex Dowsett, Movistar Team  @ 00:08.4
3. James Gullen, JLT Condor @ 00:50.8
4. Tao Geoghegan Hart, Team Sky @ 01:27.1
5. Harry Tanfield, BIKE Channel Canyon  @ 01:33.4
6. Peter Williams, One Pro Cycling  @ 01:52.7
7. Ryan Perry, Raleigh GAC @ 01:55.8
8. Samuel Harrison, Team Wiggins @ 02:30.8
9. Richard Handley, Madison Genesis @ 02:47.1
10. Jonathan Dibben, Team Sky @ 03:18.8

2017 Under-23 Men’s Time Trial Results

1 Scott Davies Team Wiggins 28:20.3
2 Thomas Baylis One Pro Cycling @ 00:49.7
3 Charlie Tanfield Brother NRG @ 00:50.9
4 Christopher Lawless Axeon Hagens Berma @ 01:00.2
5 Ben Hetherington – @ 01:17.1
6 Joey Walker Team Wiggins @ 01:27.7
7 Matthew Gibson JLT Condor @ 01:46.7
8 Joe Evans Madison Genesis @ 01:52.9
9 Connor Swift Madison Genesis @ 01:53.3
10 Gabriel Cullaigh SEG Racing Academy @ 01:56.2

Leave a Reply