Bronze for Brenton in Ballarat

Images: Cycling Australia / John Veage

Fresh from a dominating display at the Bay Cycling Classic, Brenton Jones took bronze in the Australian criterium championships last night. The new JLT Condor signing was without team mates in the race as it was only open for riders of Australian nationality to enter.

The race was dominated by a nine rider move initiated by Nathan Earle who was joined by Jesse Featonby, Joshua Taylor, Sam Spokes  Travis Meyer, Ben Hill , Cameron Ivory , Mitch Docker  and Sam Crome.

As the laps counted down the team of ORICA-Scott took up the chase, steadily whittling down the advantage of the break to eight seconds with two laps to go, before a series of attacks from the peloton saw the race back together heading in to the final straight.

In a drag race to the line, Ewan had the leadout from his ORICA-Scott team who had protected him through the race. He unleashed his speed to cross the line with his hands in the air claimed a second title. The top 10 featured a who’s who of Australian sprinting including former champion Steele von Hoff (fourth), track world champion Scott Sunderland (second) and former under 23 champions Jesse Kerrison (fifth) and Scott Law (tenth).

Image: Cycling Australia / John Veage


Brenton Jones was eager to take positives from head to head sprint with Ewan. “One thing that we go into every race is trying to find ways to beat him I guess, he is a classy bike rider.”

“He has won World Tour stages, he knows how to win big races. I think it is awesome for us as guys trying to beat him, to gain experience from him, learn from him, race against him,” Jones added of the competition boosting Australian sprinting.

“I think we are only going to get better ourselves. I had a nice little cheeky win on the stage tour of the Bay Crits, I overpowered him there.”

Elite Men’s Criterium Podium
Gold – Caleb Ewan (NSW)
Silver – Scott Sunderland (WA)
Bronze – Brenton Jones (VIC)

Leave a Reply