The Lincoln Grand Prix


The narrow streets and cobbled climb of Lincoln are set for a thrilling finale to the Motorpoint Spring Cup Series on Sunday, 15th with a return to the ever popular Lincoln GP circuit.

The Circuit

The 61st edition of the Lincoln GP will take on thirteen laps of the 13km circuit that has remained unchanged for many editions.
Starting from under the shadow of beautiful Lincoln Cathedral the race heads out of the town and into the surrounding country lanes before returning into the city via the famous cobbled climb of, Michaelgate.



Enjoyed by some, fear by other, punishing nonetheless.
The cobbled climb of Michaelgate has featured in every edition of the Lincoln GP and almost always been the decisive point of the race with a countless number of winning attacks being made on the climb.
The 400m, 10% ave climb attracts the biggest crowds to be found on the entire circuit and the atmosphere is comparable to any Belgian Classic with plenty of cheering, clapping, flag waving, its quite a spectacle.


Past Winners

Steeped in history, the Lincoln GP is a race that many riders look to add to their palmarès, not alone JLT-Condor with no less then two victories for the team. Adding to that, both team Director Sportif, Dean Downing and brother, Russ Downing have won the prestigious race. The latter has seen the top of the podium on four occasions, a win on Sunday would see Russ Downing names the most successful racer of the Lincoln GP.

Team JLT-Condor p/b Mavic Line Up

Russ Downing
Graham Briggs
Chris Lawless
Tom Moses
Ali Slater
Steven Lampier
Conor Dunne

Race Day Info

Race HQ & Team Areas: Yarborough Leisure Centre
Teams expected: 10:30am
Race Start: 12:30pm
Start Location: Top of Drury Lane
Race Length: 169km
Recommended viewing: Michaelgate, Bailgate, Exchequer Gate.

More information can be found on the Lincoln GP website.

Leave a Reply