Pearl Izumi Tour Series: Guide

The only team to have ridden in all eight editions of the series, JLT-Condor p/b Mavic will again make up one of six featured teams in the ever popular, Pearl Izumi Tour Series. With an array of riders with different specialties to suit each venue, the team looks to repeat the success of 2011 and 2014 to be crowded overall series winner at the end of the ten rounds.

How It Works

The Pearl Izumi Tour Series runs on a unique format where a team’s collective performance is equally as important as an individual win.
Although riders will be looking to cross the line first on the night, the teams’ objectives will be to complete the racing with the highest possible number of team points by finishing with the lowest cumulative time between the five riders.

Every rider in the race receives their own unique finish time, all tracked by a transponder on their bike. Each team has the time of their five riders added together and the team with the lowest cumulative time wins on the night, and receives the all important 10-points for victory.

The team with the greatest number of points at the end of the series will be crowded Overall Series Winners, a prize that JLT-Condor has taken on two occasions and the only team to do so.


The Points

All nine participating teams from each round will gain points with the 1st placed team on the night taking away the maximum amount of 10pts and the 9th placed team taking 2pts.
The leading team will be awarded with the White and Red Pearl Izumi Tour Series leader’s jersey which they will wear in the following round of the series. At the end of the series, the team with the highest number of points will win the overall.

 1st Team – 10 points
2nd Team – 9 points
3rd Team – 8 points
4th Team – 7 points
5th Team – 6 points
6th Team – 5 points
7th Team – 4 points
8th Team – 3 points
9th Team – 2 points

The Teams and Riders

From punchy cobbled climbs of Durham to the pan flat streets of Stevenage, the Pearl Izumi Tour Series brings a large variety of different styles of circuit, therefore team selection will play a big role in the overall success of the team.
Six British UCI Continental teams will feature in all ten rounds of the series, where a five man squad will be named for each round from the team’s twelve man roster. These six teams will be joined by three guest teams that will feature at one of more venues.
Team Manager, John Herety named a strong twelve man selection for JLT-Condor p/b Mavic which include both punchy climb specialists to powerful sprinters, giving the team the ability to choose riders to suit the circuit.

Riders such as Graham Briggs, Thomas Moses and Ed Clancy MBE who have all tasted Tour Series Success with JLT-Condor are joined by a host of experienced Tour Series riders all looking to help increase JLT-Condor’s series winner tally to three.



Ten different towns and cities up and down the UK will host the series over the five weeks of racing. For 2016, two new venues in Ramsey and Stevenage were added, along with a return to Stoke-on-Trent, Edinburgh and Portsmouth, where the series will finish.
Minor tweaks have been made by the organisers at both Edinburgh and Stoke-on-Trent to provide spectators with the best possible view of the race as it goes with the cities, while both Croydon and Portsmouth will be raced on completely new circuits for 2016.

Round One – Thursday 12 May – Ramsey, Isle of Man (includes Team Time Trial)
Round Two – Tuesday 17 May – Motherwell
Round Three – Thursday 19 May – Edinburgh
Round Four – Thursday 26 May – Redditch
Round Five – Friday 27 May – Aberystwyth
Round Six – Tuesday 31 May – Durham
Round Seven – Thursday 2 June – Stoke-on-Trent
Round Eight – Monday 6 June – Stevenage
Round Nine – Tuesday 7 June – Croydon
Round Ten – Thursday 9 June – Portsmouth

Where to Watch

As ever the Pearl Izumi Tour Series is expect to draw in some very large crowds to join in with the party atmosphere that the series brings with it.All rounds are free to spectators with some venues such as Round 1 in Ramsey and Round 5 in Aberystwyth both holding special cycling festivals.
The series will once again be televised on ITV4 as part of a highlight programme, details for each round can be found on the series website.

16aAdditional information regarding the Pearl Izumi Tour Series can be found on the event’s Tour Series Event Website.

Leave a Reply