Briggs moves to 7th at Tour of Britain

Images: Angus Sung
Graham Briggs continues to impress at the Tour of Britain, after three days the rider has taken two top ten places and is currently lying in 7th place overall.
Yesterday’s stage saw Team Sky’s Elia Viviani overcome the dominant Lotto-Soudal sprint train to take the victory with Graham Briggs sprinting in to the finish at Floors Castle for 8th.
The result was all the more impressive as a crash at four kilometres to go left Graham without teammates to guide him through the complicated finish. Briggs kept his cool and found the right position and wheels to ensure he featured in the sprint racing against World Tour hot shots.
Speaking to ITV Sport Graham explained he’d changed his focus coming into the race “I’ve really focused on the Tour of Britain this year, worked hard to keep my weight down and do much longer days. Getting over the climb in the chase group on Stage 2 was one of the toughest days. I’m really looking forward to the next few stages.”
Movistar’s Juan Jose Lobato moved into the Aviva Yellow Jersey as the crash brought down overnight leader, Petr Vakoc. The crash saw JLT Condor’s Tom Moses and Richard Handley held up too and they rolled in 39 seconds after the stage winner.
Graham Briggs moves up one place to 7th on General Classification, 19 seconds adrift of the top spot.

Stage 3 results: 1. Elia Viviani (Ita) Sky, in 5-08-18
2. Juan José Lobato (Esp) Movistar
3. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step
4. Sondre Holst Enger (Nor) IAM
5. Jens Debusschere (Bel) Lotto-Soudal
6. Owain Doull (GBr) Team Wiggins
7. Alberto Bettiol (Ita) Cannondale-Garmin
8. Graham Briggs (GBr) JLT-Condor p/b Mavic
9. Alex Peters (GBr) Great Britain
10. Wout Poels (Ned) Sky, all same time
Overall classification after stage three
1. Juan José Lobato (Esp) Movistar, in 15-37-04
2. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Nor) MTN-Qhubeka, at 10 secs
3. Floris Gerts (Ned) BMC, at 12 secs
4. Wout Poels (Ned) Team Sky, at 13 secs
5. Dylan van Baarle (Ned) Cannondale-Garmin, st
6. Owain Doull (GBr) Team Wiggins, at 14 secs
7. Graham Briggs (GBr) JLT-Condor p/b Mavic, st
8. Rasmus Guldhammer (Den) Cult Energy, st
9. Matteo Trentin (Ita) Etixx – Quick-Step, at 18 secs
10. Ruben Fernandez (Esp) Movistar, at 22 secs

Highlights of Stage Three are available on ITV Player (UK regions) with a repeat at 11.55am (GMT) on Wednesday 9 September.
Highlights are also available on British Eurosport

Leave a Reply