Delightful double: Briggs and Handley victorious

Images: Shaun Flannery
Delight at double wins for JLT Condor in the Danum Trophy and Angela Davies Memorial in a packed weekend of racing for domestic teams.

Graham Briggs returned from a five-week break to take victory in the 60-mile Danum Trophy Road Race as his JLT Condor team claimed three of the first four places.

Briggs crossed the line four seconds clear of Ben Hetherington (Achieve Northside Skinnergate) who had been with him at the head of affairs from the first of ten laps of a testing circuit based on High Melton, in South Yorkshire.

The chasers included two JLT Condor young development riders, Joe Moses and Harry Tanfield, who eventually took off on their own and bridged the gap to the leading pair on the last lap, but local man Briggs put the hammer down to force a split and was comfortably clear at the line.

“It was on a different circuit when I won it before, but I know these roads well,” said 31-year-old Briggs, from Rossington. “I raced in Australia in February, but I was ill last week and missed my first races back home.

“My legs were pretty good today and it’s great to get a win in my first race before going off to the Tour of Normandy on Saturday.”

Images: Shaun Flannery

Adding to a good weekend for the JLT Condor team, Richard Handley and Michael Cuming took first and third places in 75-mile Angela Davies Memorial road race.

The race promoted by Ystwyth CC featured four taxing ascents of New Row climb followed by the one-mile 49’er climb before rolling back to the finish in Aberystwyth. As the race came its conclusion both Madison Genesis and JLT Condor were well represented but it was the calculating climber, Richard Handley who was able to seal the win for the team rounding off a great weekend for the Men in Black. 

Danum Trophy Result – promoted by Doncaster Wheels:
1 Graham Briggs (JLT Condor) 2-19-46
2 Ben Hetherington (Achieve Northside Skinnergate) at 4 sec
3 Joe Moses (JLT Condor) at 9 sec
4 Harry Tanfield (JLT Condor) at 21 sec
5 Dillon Byrne (Champion Systems VCUK) at 3-30
6 Joey Walker (RST Racing Team)
7 Arthur Didelot (Team Vertex)
8 Connor Swift (Team Polypipe)
9 Ashley Proctor (Team Envelopemaster-bikeboxalan)
10 Tom Moses (JLT Condor)

Angela Davies Memorial Result – Ystwyth CC:
1 Richard Handley (JLT Condor)
2 Stephen Williams (Pedal Heaven RT)
3 Michael Cuming (JLT Condor)
4 Tom Scully (Madison Genesis)
5 Rhys Lloyd (NFTO)
6 Mike Northey (Madison Genesis)
7 Matt Cronshaw (Madison Genesis)
8 Ryan Perry (Army CU)
9 Kristian House (JLT Condor)
10 Mark McNally (Madison Genesis)

Leave a Reply